Musician • Musicologist

Boulder, Colorado, USA

Deborah Hayes is a professor emerita and former associate dean for graduate studies in the College of Music at the University of Colorado at Boulder. Her publications include studies of music and musicians of the eighteenth century and more recent times, including historical women composers.

The Classic Women pages and linked documents provide an overview of European and American women whose music 

dates from 1750 to the early 1800s, the Classic

‍ era. Other pages are devoted to the music of 

seven composers active in the late 1700s 

‍   — Maria Barthélemon (Polly Young)

‍   — Cecilia Maria Barthélemon

‍   — Marie-Emmanuelle Bayon Louis

‍   — Maria Hester Reynolds Park

‍   — Maria F. Parke

‍   — Jane Savage

‍   — Ann Valentine

The Publications page includes links to essays and other information about four more recent composers and their music—Ruth Shaw Wylie (1916–1989), Gabriela Lena Frank (b. 1972), Peter Sculthorpe (1929–2014), and Peggy 

Glanville-Hicks (1912–1990).

English translations of Jean-Philippe Rameau’s Harmonic Generation and his Dissertation on the Different Methods of Accompaniment . . . with the Plan for a New Method (both 1974, out-of-print) are available (free) in .pdf upon request

Think - Clockwise from upper left: Maria Theresa Agnesi, Wilhelmina von Bayreuth, 

Anna Amalia Duchess of Saxe-Weimar, Maddalena Lombardini Sirmen, Francesca LeBrun, Marianne Martines, Maria Antonia Walpurgis, Elizabeth Jacquet de la Guerre.